Sanna Kramsi - I would if I could a guide to web accessibility

Accessibility requirements in Finland

I also wanted to collect some agreements and laws that aim to improve accessibility. The list is not exhaustive. I am also not a lawyer, so the information on the site is intended as something other than legal guidance.

The law that applies in Finland is heavily based on rules at the European Union level. In some respects, our law follows the EU level, but in others, we go beyond the requirements.

Non-Discrimination Act

The renewed Equality Act entered into force at the beginning of 2015. The purpose of the Act is to promote equality, prevent discrimination and enhance the legal protection of those who have been discriminated against. Disability is taken into account in this Act.

UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

The United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UN CRPD) entered into force in Finland on 10 June 2016. Article 9 of the Convention regulates accessibility. 

EN 301 549 standard

EN 301 549 on a European standard that addresses the accessibility of information and communication technology (ICT) in public procurement. It defines requirements for ICT products and services to be accessible to all, including individuals with various disabilities. EN 301 549 aims to promote digital accessibility and ensure that ICT services and products are easily usable by all users, regardless of their abilities or needs. EN 301 549 officially adopted the W3C’s WCAG 2.1 guidelines in version 2.1.2 (2018) and the required level is AA.

The Web Accessibility Directive

The Web Accessibility Directive has already been in effect for a few years. The directive brought accessibility requirements to the public sector websites and applications. The directive also defined the requirements for an accessibility statement.

Find out more about the Web Accessibility Directive.

The European Accessibility Act (EAA)

This European Union directive brings more requirements for accessibility. The directive finally brings a part of the private sector within the scope of the requirements, which is a great thing.
The directive and the related national laws of the European Union Member States are currently in a transitional phase. The laws will enter fully into force on June 28, 2025. So now is the time to start working on the accessibility of existing services. The year 2025 will be here sooner than we realise. 

Find out more about the European Accessibility Act.

Act on the provision of digital services (Digital Services Act)

The Digital Services Act brings together European Union-level requirements under a single national law.
Read more about the Digital Services Act.